Basil Nicolaenko Memorial Distinguished Lecture Series in Nonlinear Studies

The Basil Nicolaenko Memorial Distinguished Lecture Series in Nonlinear Studies was created to recognize and honor Professor Nicolaenko's exemplary career in mathematics and his passion and intellectual curiosity for teaching nonlinear studies. He was one of the co-founding members of the Center for Nonlinear Studies at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in 1980 and joined the ASU mathematics faculty in 1988 where he was a key leader in the Environmental Fluid Dynamics Group.


March 27, 2024

The Fermi Pasta Ulam Tsingou (FPUT) Paradox: The Birth of Nonlinear Science
David Campbell
Professor (Physics, ECE, and MSE),
Director of Graduate Studies
Boston University

lecture flyer
lecture video


March 17, 2022 (virtual via Zoom)

Kolmogorov, Onsager and a Dyadic Model for Turbulence
Susan Friedlander

lecture flyer
lecture video


February 28, 2019

The equivalence problem in analytic dynamics for 1-resonance
Christiane Rousseau
University of Montreal, Quebec

Lecture flyer
Lecture video


October 17, 2011

Systemic Risk
George Papanicolaou
Robert Grimmett Professor in Mathematics
Stanford University
Lecture webcast
Lecture flyer


October 8, 2007

Inaugural Lectures
Lectures invitation
Lectures program
Lectures poster

James Mac Hyman      
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lecture webcast

Robert Ecke      
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lecture webcast

Harindra Joseph Fernando 
Arizona State University
Lecture webcast

Alan Newell
University of Arizona
Lecture webcast



The Basil Nicolaenko Distinguished Nonlinear Studies Endowment creates a legacy that will forever recognize the important and long lasting contributions that he made to our community, to the study of nonlinear studies at ASU, and to mathematics worldwide. Representatives from the ASU School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering will select the speakers for the lecture series and also scholarship and fellowship recipients from qualified students enrolled at Arizona State University in degree programs that are associated with nonlinear studies.

Make a donation